Butte County Voter Guide

Butte County Voter Guide

This Election 2018 Butte County Voter Guide will help you cut through the rhetoric, election propaganda and biased media coverage of the campaigns. This guide ranks every aspect of a candidate’s record according to experience, integrity and commitment to community.

Here you’ll find recommendations for:

  • Governor
  • Statewide Offices
  • Legislatures
  • Judges
  • Propositions and More!

Scroll down for our recommendations.

Don’t forget to subscribe to the Huey Report for updates on critical issues, trends and policies affecting our freedoms and are impacting our economy, legislation, culture and election results.

Do you live in another county? Go to the list of counties here.

Let’s get started.


Every candidate is considered after thorough research; we also have a questionnaire for candidates to complete.

Here is our rating system:

  •  : The best candidate. Our strongest endorsement.
  • : Very good.
  • : Acceptable.
  • : Vote only to prevent worse candidate(s) from winning.
  • : Terrible. Do Not Vote. All your other votes will count.

June 5th, 2018 Primary Election Recommendations

Statewide Offices


27 candidates total | The below are the candidates polling the highest

(For full explanation of this endorsement, click here)

  • Travis Allen (R)
  • John Cox (R) 
  • John Chiang (D)
  • Gavin Newsom (D)
  • Delaine Eastin (D)
  • Antonio Villagairosa (D)

Lt. Governor

11 candidates total | The below are the candidates polling the highest

  • Jeff Bleich (D)
  • Ed Hernandez (D)
  • Eleni Kounalakis (D)
  • David Hernandez (R) 
  • David Fennell (R)

Secretary of State

  • Ruben Major (D)
  • Mark Meuser (R) 
  • Michael Feinstein (G)
  • Alex Padilla (D)
  • T. Weber (P)

State Controller

  • Konstantinos Roditis (R) 
  • Betty Yee (D)

Treasurer; California

  • Jack M. Guerrero (R) 
  • Fiona Ma (D)
  • Vivek Viswanathan (D)
  • Kevin Akin (P)
  • Mike Gatto (D)

Attorney General; California

  • Steven Bailey (R) 
  • Xavier Becerra (D)
  • Eric Early (R)
  • Dave Jones (D)

Insurance Commissioner

  • Ricardo Lara (D)
  • Asif Mahmood (D)
  • Nathalie Hrizi (P)
  • Steve Poizner (I) 

State Superintendent of Public Instruction

  • Lily Ploski (I)
  • Tony Thurmond (D)
  • Marshall Tuck (D) 
  • Steven Ireland (I)

U.S. Senator

32 candidates total | The below are the candidates polling the highest

(For full explanation of this endorsement, click here)

  • Dianne Feinstein (D)
  • Kevin de Leon (D)
  • Paul Taylor (R) 
  • Erin Cruz (R)
  • Tom Palzer (R)


Proposition 68: Authorizes Bond Funding parks, Natural Resources Protection, Climate Adaptation, Water Quality and Supply, and Flood Protection.

Recommendation: No vote

Proposition 69: Requires that certain new transportation revenues be used for transportation purposes. Legislative Constitutional Amendment.

Recommendation: No vote

Proposition 70: Requires Legislative Supermajority Vote Approving Use of Cap–And-Trade Reserve Fund. Legislative Constitutional Amendment.

Recommendation: No vote

Proposition 71: Sets Effective Date for Ballot Measures. Legislative Constitutional Amendment.

Recommendation: Yes vote

Proposition 72: Permits Legislature to Exclude Newly Constructed Rain-Capture Systems From Property-Tax Reassessment Requirement. Legislative Constitutional Amendment.

Recommendation: Yes vote

U.S. House of Representatives

U.S. Representative, 1st District

  • Audrey Denney (D)
  • Jessica Jones Holcombe (D)
  • David Peterson (D)
  • Marty Walters (D)
  • Gregory Edward Cheadle (R)
  • Doug La Malfa (R) 
  • Lewis Elbinger (G)

State Assembly

State Assembly, 1st District

  • Caleen Sisk (D)
  • Peter Van Peborgh (D)
  • Brian Dahle (R) 
  • Jenny O. Connell-Nowain (NPP)

State Assembly, 3rd District

  • Sonia Aery (D)
  • James Gallagher (R) 

State Senator

State Senator, 4th District

  • Phillip Kim (D)
  • Michael “Mike” Worley (D)
  • James Nielsen (R) 

California Board of Equalization

California Board of Equalization, Member, District 1

  • Tom Hallinana (D)
  • David Evans (R)
  • Ted Gaines (R) 
  • Connie Conway (R)

County Offices

County Superintendent of Schools

  • Mary Sakuma

County Supervisor, 2nd District

  • Debra Lucero
  • Larry Wahl

County Supervisor, 3rd District

  • Tami Ritter
  • Norm Rosene
  • Bob Evans


  • Diane Brown
  • Randall Stone


  • Graciela Cano Gutierrez
  • Kathryn Mathes

County Clerk-Recorder

  • Candace Grubbs

District Attorney

  • Michael L. Ramsey


  • Kory Honea

Treasurer-Tax Collector

  • Troy Kidd