riverside county voter guide

Riverside County Voter Guide

This Election 2018 Riverside County Voter Guide will help you cut through the rhetoric, election propaganda and biased media coverage of the campaigns. This guide ranks every aspect of a candidate’s record according to experience, integrity and commitment to community.

Here you’ll find recommendations for:

  • Governor
  • Statewide Offices
  • Legislatures
  • Judges
  • Propositions and More!

Scroll down for our recommendations.

Don’t forget to subscribe to the Huey Report for updates on critical issues, trends and policies affecting our freedoms and are impacting our economy, legislation, culture and election results.

Do you live in another county? Go to the list of counties here.

Let’s get started.


Every candidate is considered after thorough research; we also have a questionnaire for candidates to complete.

Here is our rating system:

  •  : The best candidate. Our strongest endorsement.
  • : Very good.
  • : Acceptable.
  • : Vote only to prevent worse candidate(s) from winning.
  • : Terrible. Do Not Vote. All your other votes will count.

June 5th, 2018 Primary Election Recommendations

Statewide Offices


27 candidates total | The below are the candidates polling the highest

(For full explanation of this endorsement, click here)

(For my article “The Most Corrupt Election in California History: The Little Known Hijacking of the California Governor’s Race to put Two Democrats on Top”,  click here)

  • Travis Allen (R)
  • John Cox (R) 
  • John Chiang (D)
  • Gavin Newsom (D)
  • Delaine Eastin (D)
  • Antonio Villagairosa (D)

Lt. Governor

11 candidates total | The below are the candidates polling the highest

  • Jeff Bleich (D)
  • Ed Hernandez (D)
  • Eleni Kounalakis (D)
  • David Hernandez (R) 
  • David Fennell (R)

Secretary of State

  • Ruben Major (D)
  • Mark Meuser (R) 
  • Michael Feinstein (G)
  • Alex Padilla (D)
  • T. Weber (P)

State Controller

  • Konstantinos Roditis (R) 
  • Betty Yee (D)

Treasurer; California

  • Jack M. Guerrero (R) 
  • Fiona Ma (D)
  • Vivek Viswanathan (D)
  • Kevin Akin (P)
  • Mike Gatto (D)

Attorney General; California

  • Steven Bailey (R) 
  • Xavier Becerra (D)
  • Eric Early (R)
  • Dave Jones (D)

Insurance Commissioner

  • Ricardo Lara (D)
  • Asif Mahmood (D)
  • Nathalie Hrizi (P)
  • Steve Poizner (I) 

State Superintendent of Public Instruction

  • Lily Ploski (I)
  • Tony Thurmond (D)
  • Marshall Tuck (D) 
  • Steven Ireland (I)

U.S. Senator

32 candidates total | The below are the candidates polling the highest

(For full explanation of this endorsement, click here)

  • Dianne Feinstein (D)
  • Kevin de Leon (D)
  • Paul Taylor (R) 
  • Erin Cruz (R)
  • Tom Palzer (R)


Proposition 68: Authorizes Bond Funding parks, Natural Resources Protection, Climate Adaptation, Water Quality and Supply, and Flood Protection.

Recommendation: No vote

Proposition 69: Requires that certain new transportation revenues be used for transportation purposes. Legislative Constitutional Amendment.

Recommendation: No vote

Proposition 70: Requires Legislative Supermajority Vote Approving Use of Cap–And-Trade Reserve Fund. Legislative Constitutional Amendment.

Recommendation: No vote

Proposition 71: Sets Effective Date for Ballot Measures. Legislative Constitutional Amendment.

Recommendation: Yes vote

Proposition 72: Permits Legislature to Exclude Newly Constructed Rain-Capture Systems From Property-Tax Reassessment Requirement. Legislative Constitutional Amendment.

Recommendation: Yes vote


Riverside County Superior Court, Judge, Office 2 

  • Shaffer Timothy Cormell
  • Tim Hollenhorst

U.S. House of Representatives

U.S. Representative, 8th District

  • Marge Doyle (D)
  • Ronald O’Donnell (D)
  • Rita Ramirez (D)
  • Paul Cook (R) – Incumbent
  • Tim Donnelly (R) 

U.S. House of Representatives, District 41 

  • Mark Takano
  • Aja Smith

U.S. Representative, 42nd District

  • Ken Calvert (R) 
  • Julia C. Peacock (D)
  • Norman Quintero (D)
  • Matt Woody (No Party Preference)

U.S. Representative, 36th District

  • Kimberlin Brown-Pelzer (R) 
  • Douglas Hassett (R)
  • Raul Ruiz (D)
  • Dan Ball (R)
  • Stephan J. Wolkowicz (R)

U.S. Representative, 50th District

  • Bill Wells (R) 
  • Ammar Campa-Najjar (D)
  • Josh Butner (D)
  • Duncan Hunter (R)
  • S. “Shamus” Sayed (R)

California State Senator

State Senator, 16th District

  • Shannon Grove (R) 
  • Gregory Tatum (R)
  • Ruth Musser-Lopez (D)

State Senate, 28th District

  • Jeff Stone (R) 
  • Joy Silver (D)
  • Anna Nevenic (D)

California State Assembly

State Assembly, 42nd District

  • Chad Mayes (R)
  • Carol A. Bouldin (G)
  • Gary Jeandron (R) 
  • Andrew F. Kotyuk (R)
  • Deniantionette Mazingo (D)

State Assembly, 56th District

  • Jonathan Reiss (R)
  • Jeff Gonzalez (R) 
  • Eduardo Garcia (D)

State Assembly, 60th District

  • Bill Essayli (R) 
  • Sabrina Cervantes (D)

California State Assembly, District 61

  • Jose Medina 

State Assembly, 67th District

  • Michelle Singleton (D)
  • Melissa Melendez (R) 

State Assembly, 71st District

  • Randy Voepel (R) 
  • James Elia (D)
  • Larry A. Wilske (R)

State Assembly, 75th District

  • Alan Geraci (D)
  • Marie Waldron (R) 

California Board of Equalization

California Board of Equalization, Member, District 4

  • Mike Schaefer (D)
  • David Dodson (D)
  • Nader F. Shahatit (R)
  • Ken Lopez-Maddox (D)
  • Joel Anderson (R) 
  • John Kelly (R)
  • Jim Stieringer (R)

County Offices

Sheriff – Coroner; Riverside County

  • Chad Bianco  
  • Stan Sniff
  • Miguel Garcia IV
  • Dave Brown

Superintendent of Schools 

  • Judy D. White

Alvord Unified School District

Trustee, Trustee Area 2 Recall Barragan

  • Joseph J. Barragan

Trustee, Trustee Area 2 Barragan Replacement

  • Lizeth Vega

Member, Trustee Area 1 

  • Javed Iqbal Khan 
  • Oliver “Coach O” Unaka
  • Kim Joseph Cousins

Member, Trustee Area 2 

  • Wendel W. Tucker 
  • Micaela “Mikki” Cichocki

Supervisor, District 2 

  • Will Martinez 
  • Mike Gardner
  • Karen Spiegel
  • Penny Newman
  • Eric Linder 

Supervisor, District 5

  • Artie Holcomb
  • Patricia Vargas Sanchez
  • Jaime C. Hurtado
  • Jeff Hewitt 
  • Russ Bogh

Assessor/County Clerk/Recorder 

  • Peter Aldana

District Attorney 

  • Mike Hestrin 
  • Lara Gressley


  • Paul A. Angulo

Treasurer/Tax Collector 

  • Hakan Jackson
  • Jon Christensen 

City of Riverside, Ward 2

  • Pastor Jon Scott Harris 

City of Riverside, Ward 4

  • Chuck Condor 

City of Riverside, Ward 6

  • Jim Perry 

City of Moreno Valley, District 4 Special Election

  • Hector Diaz