Sacramento County Voter Guide

Sacramento County Voter Guide

This Election 2020 Sacramento County voter guide will help you cut through the rhetoric, election propaganda and biased media coverage of the campaigns. This guide ranks every aspect of a candidate’s record according to experience, integrity, and commitment to community.

Here you’ll find recommendations for:

  • President
  • Propositions
  • Superior Court Judges
  • Congress
  • State Senator
  • Assembly Men
  • City Council

Scroll down for our recommendations.

Don’t forget to subscribe to the Huey Report for updates on critical issues, trends and policies affecting our freedoms and are impacting our economy, legislation, culture and election results.

Let’s get started.

Ratings: Every candidate is considered after thorough research; we also have a questionnaire for candidates to complete. Here is our rating system:

  •  : The best candidate. Our strongest endorsement.
  • : Very good.
  • : Acceptable.
  • : Vote only to prevent worse candidate(s) from winning.
  • : Terrible. Do Not Vote. All your other votes will count.

Click here for new policy for write-in candidates.

2020  Presidential Election Recommendations

(View official election schedule here)


  • Joe Biden(D) 
  • Elizabeth Warren (D) 
  • Bernie Sanders (D) 
  • Pete Buttigieg (D) 
  • Tom Steyer (D) 
  • Mike Bloomberg (D) 
  • Donald Trump (R)  [Endorsed]
  • Governor William F. Weld (R) 


Proposition 13 = Vote “no”

U.S. Representative

3rd District

  • John Garamendi (D) (Incumbent) 
  • Sean Feucht (R) 
  • Tamika Hamilton (R) 

4th District

  • Tom McClintock (R) 
  • Julianne Benzel (R) 
  • Brynne Kennedy (D) 
  • Robert Lawton 
  • Jamie Byers (R) 
  • Mario Wilson 

6th District

  • Doris Matsui (D) (Incumbent) 
  • Benjamin Emard (D) 
  • Chris Bish (R) 
  • Sherwood Ellsworth Haisty Jr. (R) 

7th District

  • Ami Bera (D) (Incumbent) 
  • Jeff Burdick (D) 
  • Jon Ivy (R) 
  • Buzz Patterson (R) 
  • Robert Christian Rischardson (G) 

9th District

  • Jerry McNerney (D) (Incumbent) 
  • Antonio Amador (R) 
  • William Martinek (R) 

California State Senate

District 1

  • Pamela Swartz (D) 
  • Brian Dahle (Incumbent) (R) 

District 3

  • Bill Dodd (Incumbent) (D) 

District 5

  • Susan Talamantes Eggman (D) 
  • Mani Grewal (D) 
  • Jesus Andrade (R) 
  • Kathleen Garcia (R) 
  • Jim Ridenour (R) 

California State Assembly

District 6

  • Jackie Smith (D) 
  • Kevin Kiley (Incumbent) (R) 

District 7

  • Kevin McCarty (Incumbent) (D) Uncontested

District 8

  • Ken Cooley (Incumbent) (D) 
  • Cathy Cook (R) 

District 9

  • Jim Cooper (Incumbent) (D) 
  • Tracie Stafford (D) 
  • Mushtaq Tahirkheli (D) 
  • Eric Rigard (R) 

District 11

  • Jim Frazier (Incumbent) (D) Uncontested