san diego county voter guide

San Diego County Voter Guide

This Election 2020 San Diego County voter guide will help you cut through the rhetoric, election propaganda and biased media coverage of the campaigns. This guide ranks every aspect of a candidate’s record according to experience, integrity, and commitment to community.

Here you’ll find recommendations for:

  • President
  • Propositions
  • Superior Court Judges
  • Congress
  • State Senator
  • Assembly Men
  • City Council

Scroll down for our recommendations.

Don’t forget to subscribe to the Huey Report for updates on critical issues, trends and policies affecting our freedoms and are impacting our economy, legislation, culture and election results.

Let’s get started.

Ratings: Every candidate is considered after thorough research; we also have a questionnaire for candidates to complete. Here is our rating system:

  •  : The best candidate. Our strongest endorsement.
  • : Very good.
  • : Acceptable.
  • : Vote only to prevent worse candidate(s) from winning.
  • : Terrible. Do Not Vote. All your other votes will count.

Click here for new policy for write-in candidates.

2020  Presidential Election Recommendations

(View official election schedule here)


  • Joe Biden(D) 
  • Elizabeth Warren (D) 
  • Bernie Sanders (D) 
  • Pete Buttigieg (D) 
  • Tom Steyer (D) 
  • Mike Bloomberg (D) 
  • Donald Trump (R)  [Endorsed]
  • Governor William F. Weld (R) 




Judges sitting on California courts may be incompetent, corrupt or lazy. Even worse, many are political opportunists with a political agenda.

There are two types of judges. One is the “judicial activist.” A judicial activist legislates from the bench. Instead of strictly interpreting California law, these judges make the laws. Instead of applying the law to facts, they rule based on their own values

Judicial activists have:

  • Overturned voter-passed initiatives and laws passed by the state legislature because they personally have different belief system. They twist the law to rationalize their decisions.
  • Imposed their own moral codes, political beliefs and secular values in an effort to reshape our society and promote social engineering.

The second judicial philosophy, “strict constructionist,” is one in which the judge impartially arrives at a fair judgment based on law.

Judicial activists are usually more liberal; strict constructionists are usually more conservative.


We come up with the final rating by taking the average of the candidate’s Judicial Index and Qualifications. For example, if the candidate had a Judicial Index of 8 and Qualifications of 6, their overall rating would be 7.

Superior Court Judges

Office 18

  • CJ Mody – Rating 8
  • Roberta Winston – Rating 4

Office 22

  • Steve Miller – Rating 6
  • Alana Robinson – Rating 4
  • Mike Skeels — Rating 8 [Endorsed]

Office 30

  • Mike Murphy – Rating 5
  • Pete Murray – Rating 7
  • Tim Nader – Rating 4
  • Paul Starita – Rating 4

Office 36

  • Michelle Laleggio – Rating 4
  • Shawn A. McMillan – Rating 9

U.S. Representative

49th District

  • Mike Levin (D) (Incumbent) 
  • Brian Maryott (R)

50th District

  • Marisa Calderon (D) 
  • Ammar Campa-Najjar (D) 
  • Carl DeMaio (R) 
  • Darrell Issa (R) 
  • Brian Jones (R) 
  • Nathan Wilkins (R) 
  • Jose Cortes (Peace and Freedom Party of California) 
  • Helen Horvath (Independent) 
  • Lucinda Jahn (Independent) 
  • Henry Ota (Independent) 

51st District

  • Juan Hidalgo (R) 
  • Juan Vargas (D) (incumbent) 

52nd District

  • Scott Peters (D) (Incumbent) 
  • Nancy Casady (D) 
  • Jim DeBello (R) 
  • Ryan Cunningham (Independent) 

53rd District

  • John Brooks (D) 
  • Jose Caballero (D) 
  • Joseph Fountain (D) 
  • Janessa Goldbeck (D) 
  • Georgette Gomez (D) 
  • Sara Jacobs (D) 
  • Eric Kutner (D) 
  • Annette Meza (D) 
  • Suzette Santori (D) 
  • Joaquin Vazquez (D) 
  • Tom Wong (D) 
  • Ashur Gabriel (R) (Write-in) 
  • Michael Oristian (R) 
  • Famela Ramos (R) 
  • Chris Stoddard (R) 
  • Fernando Garcia (Independent) 

California State Senate

39th District

  • Toni Atkins (D) (Incumbent) 

State Assembly

District 71

  • Liz Lavertu (D) 
  • Randy Voepel (R) (Incumbent) 

District 75

  • Roger Garcia (D) 
  • Karen Schwartz (D) 
  • Marie Waldron (R) (Incumbent) 

District 76

  • Tasha Boerner Horvath (D) (Incumbent) 
  • Melanie Burkholder (R) 

District 77

  • Brian Maienschein (D) (Incumbent) 
  • June Yang Cutter (R) 

District 78

  • Sarah Davis (D) 
  • Micah Perlin (D) 
  • Christopher Ward (D) 

District 79

  • Shirley Weber (D) (Incumbent) 
  • Carmelita Larrabaster (R) 
  • John Moore (R) 

District 80

  • Lorena Gonzalez Fletcher (D) (Incumbent) 
  • Lincoln Pickard (R) 
  • John Vogel (R) 

Republican Central Committees
(listed are people we recommend) 

In each district there are many conservative candidates running. In fact, it’s been difficult to make these choices. Because
many of you may know at least one of the folks running for this important office, in some races I have not selected six candidates, leaving room for you to add one or more if you choose to do so. (Remember, you are not required to vote for six.
Vote for as many as you feel will represent your views.)
71st Assembly District
Gary Kreep 
Joel Anderson*
Frank Hilliker*
Jim Kelly*
Dustin Trotter*
Baron T “Barry” Willis
75th Assembly District
Randy Berholtz
Lee De Meo*
William Del Pilar
Kimberly Mead*
C. Brian Melonakos
Alana Sorensen
76th Assembly District
John Buell*
Melanie Burkholder
Donna Cleary
Leslie Schneider*
Roarke Shanley*
Patti Siegmann
77th Assembly District
Miles Himmel
Tony Krvaric*
Andrew Skale*
Lynette Williams*
T.J. Zane*
78th Assembly District
Richard Bailey*
Daniel Holstein*
Jean Roesch”
Elizabeth Spillane*
Donna Woodrum
Woody Woodrum
79th Assembly District
Hector Raul Gastelum
John Hoy
John McCann*
Barrett Tetlow*
George Williams*
80th Assembly District
Allan Candelore
Craig Candelore*
William “Bud” McLeroy*
Paula Whitsell*

Educational Offices

Colleges Grossmont-Cuyamaca

Comm.College Area 3 – Bartosz Murawski (GOP-endorsed) Grossmont-Cuyamaca

Comm. College Area 4 – Jordan Gascon (GOP-endorsed)

San Diego Comm. College Dist B – Daniel Piedra

San Diego Comm. College Dist D – Mike Palomba (GOP-endorsed) School Districts

San Diego Unified Schools, Dist. A – Crystal Trull (GOP-endorsed)

San Diego Unified Schools, Dist. D – SDGOP endorses write-in Camille Harris

San Diego Unified Schools, Dist. E – No recommendation (Note: Sharon Whitehurst-Payne is endorsed by Bishop George McKinney and may be preferable to her Planned Parenthood-endorsed opponent.)

County Offices Board of Supervisors, District 1 – Alex Galicia (GOP-endorsed)

Board of Supervisors, District 2 – Joel Anderson Board of Supervisors,

District 3 – Kristin Gaspar 3 City Offices

Carlsbad City Council, Dist 1– Tracy Carmichael

Chula Vista City Council, Dist 3 – Henry A. Martinez, II (GOP-endorsed)

Chula Vista City Council, Dist 4 – Mike Diaz*

San Diego City Mayor – Scott Sherman

San Diego City Attorney – No recommendation

San Diego City Council, Dist 1– No recommendation

San Diego City Council, Dist 3 – Michelle Nguyen (GOP-endorsed)

San Diego City Council, Dist 5 – Joe Leventhal

San Diego City Council, Dist 7 – Noli Zosa

San Diego City Council, Dist 9 – Andrew Gade (GOP-endorsed)