san bernardino county voter guide

San Bernardino Voter Guide

This Election 2020 San Bernardino County voter guide will help you cut through the rhetoric, election propaganda and biased media coverage of the campaigns. This guide ranks every aspect of a candidate’s record according to experience, integrity, and commitment to community.

Here you’ll find recommendations for:

  • President
  • Propositions
  • Superior Court Judges
  • Congress
  • State Senator
  • Assembly Men
  • City Council

Scroll down for our recommendations.

Don’t forget to subscribe to the Huey Report for updates on critical issues, trends and policies affecting our freedoms and are impacting our economy, legislation, culture and election results.

Let’s get started.

Ratings: Every candidate is considered after thorough research; we also have a questionnaire for candidates to complete. Here is our rating system:

  •  : The best candidate. Our strongest endorsement.
  • : Very good.
  • : Acceptable.
  • : Vote only to prevent worse candidate(s) from winning.
  • : Terrible. Do Not Vote. All your other votes will count.

Click here for new policy for write-in candidates.

2020  Presidential Election Recommendations

(View official election schedule here)


  • Joe Biden(D) 
  • Elizabeth Warren (D) 
  • Bernie Sanders (D) 
  • Pete Buttigieg (D) 
  • Tom Steyer (D) 
  • Mike Bloomberg (D) 
  • Donald Trump (R)  [Endorsed]
  • Governor William F. Weld (R) 




Judges sitting on California courts may be incompetent, corrupt or lazy. Even worse, many are political opportunists with a political agenda.

There are two types of judges. One is the “judicial activist.” A judicial activist legislates from the bench. Instead of strictly interpreting California law, these judges make the laws. Instead of applying the law to facts, they rule based on their own values

Judicial activists have:

  • Overturned voter-passed initiatives and laws passed by the state legislature because they personally have different belief system. They twist the law to rationalize their decisions.
  • Imposed their own moral codes, political beliefs and secular values in an effort to reshape our society and promote social engineering.

The second judicial philosophy, “strict constructionist,” is one in which the judge impartially arrives at a fair judgment based on law.

Judicial activists are usually more liberal; strict constructionists are usually more conservative.


We come up with the final rating by taking the average of the candidate’s Judicial Index and Qualifications. For example, if the candidate had a Judicial Index of 8 and Qualifications of 6, their overall rating would be 7.

Superior Court Judges

Office 1

  • Jason M. Liso – Rating 6
  • Joel S. Agron – Rating 4

Office 16

  • David K. Tulcan – Rating 5
  • Satnford Reichert – Rating 8

U.S. Representative

8th District

  • Chris Bubser (D) 
  • Bob Conaway (D) 
  • James Ellars (D) 
  • Tim Donnelly (R) 
  • Jerry Laws (R) 
  • Jay Obernolte (R) 
  • Jeremy Staat (R) 
  • Justin David Whitehead (R) 
  • Jacquetta Green (Unaffiliated) (Write-in) 
  • Jeff Esmus (Independent) 

27th District

  • Judy Chu (D) (Incumbent) 
  • Beatrice Cardenas (R) 
  • Johnny Nalbandian (R) 
  • Christian Daly (I) 

31st District

  • Pete Aguilar (D) (Incumbent) 
  • Agnes Gibboney (R) 

35th District

  • Norma Torres (D) (Incumbent) 
  • Mike Cargile (R) 

39th District

  • Gil Cisneros (D) (Incumbent) 
    • Young Kim (R) 
  • Steve Cox (Independent) 

California State Senator

District 21

  • Warren Heaton (D) 
  • Steve Hill (D) 
  • Dana LaMon (D) 
  • Kipp Mueller (D) 
  • Scott Wilk (R) (Incumbent) 

District 23

  • Kris Goodfellow (D) 
  • Abigail Medina (D) 
  • Rosilicie Ochoa Bogh (R) 
  • Cristina Puraci (R) 
  • Lloyd White (R) 

District 25

  • Anthony Portantino, Jr. (D) (Incumbent) 

District 29

  • Joseph Cho (D) 
  • Josh Newman (D) 
  • Ling Ling Chang (R) (Incumbent) 

State Assembly

District 33

  • Socorro Cisneros (D) 
  • Blanca Gomez (D) 
  • Roger LaPlante (D) 
  • Anthony Rhoades (D) 
  • Rick Herrick (R) 
  • Thurston Smith (R) 
  • Alex Walton (R) 

District 36

  • Jonathan Ervin (D) 
  • Lourdes Everett (D) 
  • Steve Fox (D) 
  • Diedra Greeenaway (D) 
  • Ollie M. McCaulley (D) 
  • Tom Lackey (R) (Incumbent) 

District 40

  • James Ramos (D) (Incumbent) 
  • Jennifer Tullius (R) 

District 41

  • Chris Holden (D) (Incumbent) 
  • Robin Hvidston (R) 

District 42

  • DeniAntionette Mazingo (D) 
  • Andrew Kotyuk (R) 
  • Chad Mayes (Incumbent) (Independent)

District 47

  • Eloise Gomez Reyes (D) (Incumbent) 
  • Matthew Gordon (R) 

District 52

  • Freddie Rodriguez (D) (Incumbent) 
  • Toni Holle (R) 

District 55

  • Andrew Rodriguez (D) 
  • Phillip Chen (R) (Incumbent)